Away from the city and home…

If I could drive a thousand miles

away from the city and home

I’d reach a place where the starry sky

is not veiled by a staged glow

I’d sleep under the heavenly blanket

with the soft grass under my head

and wake with the chirpin’ birds

and the morning dew on my hands

away from the city and home

a place where I can finally breathe

and heave a sigh of relief

the horns no longer bleed my ears

nor do the people make me moan

out here away from the city and home

is a place where I can finally be on my own.

-Ayesha Aggarwal

 

Leave a Reply

